Governor, Presiding Officers Make Joint Chair Appointment; Commission Will Examine Gun Trace Task Force

ANNAPOLIS, MD – Governor Larry Hogan today announced three appointments to the Commission to Restore Trust in Policing. The Commission was established by Senate Bill 1099, signed by Governor Hogan earlier this year. It will review, investigate, and make recommendations relating to the Baltimore City Police Department, including the operations of the Gun Trace Task Force and the investigations and cases handled by the Task Force.  The Commission must provide a preliminary report of its findings to the Governor and General Assembly by the end of 2018 followed by a final report by the end of 2019.

The Honorable Alexander Williams Jr. was appointed Chair of the Commission jointly by Governor Hogan, Senate President Thomas V. “Mike” Miller, and House Speaker Michael Busch. Judge Williams is a retired United States District Court Judge and a former elected State’s Attorney for Prince George’s County. Since his retirement from the federal bench, Judge Williams joined the firm of Silverman, Thompson, Slutkin and White and also conducts mediations and arbitrations with the McCammon Group. He currently serves as Chair of the Appellate Courts Judicial Nominating Commission, Co-Chair of the Redistricting Reform Commission and as a member of the University of Maryland Medical System Corporation Board of Directors. Judge Williams is a Prince George’s County resident.

Gary W. McLhinney was appointed a member of the Commission by Governor Hogan. Mr. McLhinney currently serves as Director of Professional Standards for the Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services. He previously served as Chief of Police for the Maryland Transportation Authority Police and as a police officer for the Baltimore City Police Department. He currently serves on the Municipal Credit Union Board of Directors and the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Board of Directors. Mr. McLhinney is a Baltimore County resident.

Alicia Lynn Wilson, Esq. was appointed a member of the Commission by Governor Hogan. Ms. Wilson currently serves as Senior Legal Counsel and Senior Vice President of Impact Investments for Plank Industries/Port Covington Impact Investments. She previously served as a Labor and Employment and Litigation Partner at Gordon Feinblatt, LLC. Ms. Wilson is a member of the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Board, an Executive Board member and Program Chair of the College Bound Foundation, and is an Executive Board Member of The Choice Jobs Program, The Center for Urban Families, Baltimore Corps and Associated Black Charities. Ms. Wilson resides in Baltimore City.

The governor’s appointees will join Ashiah Parker, Chief Operating Officer of Baltimore City nonprofit No Boundaries Coalition, and Mitchel Gordon, a Baltimore attorney and former Baltimore City police officer, who were appointed by President Miller; as well as Sean Malone, former counsel to the Baltimore City Police Department and Labor Commissioner of Baltimore City, and Inez Robb, a Sandtown-Winchester resident and Chair of Western District Community Relations Council, who were appointed by Speaker Busch.