By: St. Mary’s Ryken High School

Leonardtown, MD- Congratulations to the following students from the Class of 2020 for successfully completing the St. Mary’s Ryken Scholars Program and earning the Scholars Program destination on their diplomas. Each of these students received recognition during their individual graduation ceremonies during the week of May 18 by receiving a special Scholars Program diploma. 

“This is also the first group to complete all four years of the Project Lead the Way STEM curriculum,” said Dean of Academics, Mr. Brad Chamberlain. “These students have consistently performed at a high level academically and taken on leadership roles both in the classroom and the wider school and regional community. We could not be prouder of what they have accomplished in their four years at St. Mary’s Ryken!”

Congratulations to the following students:

  • Vir’Leah Aldridge – STEM:  BioMedical
  • Joseph Baden – STEM:  Engineering
  • Briana Bowen – STEM:  BioMedical
  • Madison – DeVane STEM:  Engineering
  • Orianna Eldridge – STEM:  BioMedical
  • Nicholas Fernbaugh – STEM:  Computer Science
  • Lawrence Michael Guy – STEM:  Engineering
  • Jaida Hendricks – STEM:  BioMedical
  • Garrett Hickie – STEM:  Engineering
  • Olivia Johnson – STEM:  Engineering
  • Kayla Kern – STEM:  BioMedical
  • Brady Kinslow – STEM:  Engineering
  • Sloan Koviak – Humanities
  • Michael Mazuc – STEM:  Engineering
  • Makayla McClary – STEM:  BioMedical
  • Ahryel McManhan – Performing Arts: Dance
  • Dillon Miller – STEM:  Engineering
  • Claire Neace – STEM:  Computer Science
  • Sydney Neal – Global and International Studies
  • Katherine O’Shields – Performing Arts: Theatre
  • Demetrius Poole – STEM:  BioMedical
  • Jason Reighard – STEM:  Computer Science
  • Alyssa Salud-Benipayo – STEM:  BioMedical
  • Mia Schaefer – Global and International Studies
  • Christine Shatrowsky – Global and International Studies
  • Margaret Sullivan – Performing Arts: Theatre
  • Dominic Taylor-Axtell – STEM:  Engineering
  • Kathryn White – STEM:  BioMedical
  • Gavin Willis – STEM:  BioMedical

The goal of the Scholars Program is to offer accelerated curriculum concentrations to our students who want a more rigorous and advanced course of study in a specific field.

The STEM curriculum uses Project Lead the Way (PLTW), the nation’s leading provider of STEM programs. PLTW’s success in preparing students to succeed has been recognized by many colleges and universities. St. Mary’s Ryken is the only high school in St. Mary’s County that currently utilizes PLTW curriculum.

Benefits of the SMR Scholars Program include:

  • Participation in a selective academic program with specialty pathways
  • Access to Advanced Placement classes asfreshmen and sophomores
  • Internship opportunities
  • Flexible scheduling to allow for electives of choice
  • Exclusive field trips
  • Capstone senior project with presentations to local professionals with consultation and feedback
  • Distinguished addition for college applications
  • Recognition at graduation and Scholars Program diploma

For more information about the Scholars Program, please visit this page, or contact Mr. Brad Chamberlain at

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...