The Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils (CRASC) announced on its Twitter page (@CRASC_Online) today that three 11th-grade students have been named finalists for the 2018-2019 student member on the Board of Education of Anne Arundel County.

The students, selected from a field of 11 applicants, are:

  • Coleman Campbell, Southern High School
  • Emily Kissinger, Southern High School
  • Josie Urrea, Severna Park High School

The Student Member on the Board of Education (SMOB) election is sponsored by CRASC. The student member is appointed by the Governor and serves a one-year term during his or her senior year of high school, and receives an $8,000 college scholarship.  Anne Arundel’s student member is the only one in the nation on a local Board of Education with full voting rights.

The three finalists will participate in a debate at 6:30 p.m. on March 28, 2018, at the Parham Building, located at 2644 Riva Road in Annapolis. The event will be broadcast live on AACPS-TV, which can be found on Channel 96 on Comcast and Broadstripe, and Channel 36 on Verizon. High definition broadcasts can be seen on Channel 996 on Comcast, Channel 496 on Broadstripe, and Channel 1961 on Verizon.

The debate will also be broadcast live on AACPS’ Livestream channel.

Elections to determine the candidate whose name will be forwarded to the governor for appointment will take place on April 19, 2018, at the CRASC General Assembly meeting.

CRASC’s constitution and bylaws call for high schools and middle schools in the county to be allotted a predetermined number of delegates, based on each school’s enrollment, at the election. Delegates will represent student government, the arts, athletics, and other extracurricular activities.