St. Mary’s City, Md. – The Middle Atlantic Intercollegiate Sailing Association (MAISA) released its all-conference teams after crowning the MAISA Women’s Champion (Apr. 22) and the MAISA Dinghy Champions (Apr. 29). Nationally-ranked St. Mary’s College of Maryland claimed four spots on the various all-conference teams.

The MAISA All-Conference Awards Committee was tasked with honoring sailors in the conference deserving special recognition for their sailing accomplishments during the 2017-2018 competition season. After combing through the cumulative fall and spring sailing results, the following recipients were awarded for their participation as skippers in women’s and coed competition as well as crews across all disciplines.

2018 All-MAISA selections

Leading the way were skippers Mackenzie Cooper ’18 (Southampton, Bermuda/Tabor [Mass.]) and Ellie Ungar ’19 (Kirkland, Wash./Interlake). Cooper landed on the second team for All-MAISA Coed Skippers while Ungar was a second team selection as well for All-MAISA Women’s Skippers.

Juniors Katherine Bjerregaard (Bristol, R.I./La Salle Academy) and Lydia McPherson-Shambarger (Annapolis, Md./Broadneck) both represented St. Mary’s as All-MAISA Crew.

The 2017-18 campaign for the Seahawks continues at the College Sailing/Sperry Women’s National Championship (May 22-25) and the College Sailing/Gill Coed Dinghy National Championship (May 29-June 1). Both events will be hosted by Old Dominion University. 

Facebook: StMarysAthletics

Instagram: @smcseahawks, @smc_sailing

Twitter: @smcseahawks, @SMC_Sailing

Hashtags: #SweepTheSheds, #GoHawks

By Nairem Moran ·