WASHINGTON, DC– Today, House Democratic Whip Steny H. Hoyer (MD-05) introducedH.R. 6437, the Secure America from Russian Interference Act, bipartisan legislation to hold Russia accountable for its malign activities and safeguard our country. The Putin regime continues to work against the interests of the United States and its allies around the world. To confront this behavior, this bill advances four basic objectives: exposing Russian misdeeds and holding President Vladimir Putin accountable; strengthening U.S. government security and preventing election interference; bolstering U.S. alliances, especially those of our NATO partners, to combat the Russian threat; and seeking constructive dialogue with the Russian people.

“With President Trump refusing to confront Russia over its ongoing interference in our elections, Congress must step up and take action,”said Whip Hoyer.“That’s why we introduced this bill today – comprehensive legislation to strengthen our election security, hold Russia accountable, and bolster our alliances. I urge Republicans to join House Democrats in bringing this bill to the Floor quickly and sending a strong message of support for our nation’s defense against foreign threats to our democracy by enacting it.”

Clickherefor text of the Secure America from Russian Interference Act andherefor an overview of the bill. H.R. 6437 is composed of 18 pieces of legislation, eight of which are bipartisan.

The legislation is cosponsored by a bipartisan group of Members: Ranking Member Eliot Engel (NY-16), Ranking Member Maxine Waters (CA-43), Ranking Member Jerry Nadler (NY-10), Ranking Member Bennie Thompson (MS-02), Ranking Member Elijah Cummings (MD-07), Ranking Member Adam Smith (WA-09), Ranking Member Adam Schiff (CA-28), Rep. Walter Jones (NC-03), Rep. Steve Cohen (TN-09), Rep. Gerry Connolly (VA-11), Rep. Joaquin Castro (TX-20), Rep. Denny Heck (WA-10), Rep. Joe Kennedy III (MA-04), Rep. Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Rep. Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Rep. Seth Moulton (MA-06), Rep. Elise Stefanik (NY-21), Rep. Salud Carbajal (CA-24), Rep. Lou Correa (CA-46), Rep. Val Demings (FL-10), Rep. Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08), Rep. Jacky Rosen, (NV-03), and Rep. Tom Suozzi (NY-03).