News Release, Delegate Matt Morgan

Annapolis , MD- Delegate Matt Morgan (District 29A, North St. Mary’s County) was selected to serve as the new Deputy Minority Leader by Republican leadership today.  Delegate Morgan will serve alongside House Minority Leader, Delegate Nic Kipke and House Minority Whip, Delegate Kathy Szelgia, as part of the minority leadership team.  This key leadership role supports the House Minority Leader and House Minority Whip in developing the minority position on legislation, negotiating with the majority party on legislative differences, directing minority caucus activities and coordinating and leading debate for the minority party on the house floor. 

In accepting his new responsibility, Morgan said “I appreciate the faith that my colleagues have shown in me. This session our caucus will be facing many challenges and I look forward to working with each member to advance legislation and further our shared conservative agenda.”

“I am happy that Delegate Morgan has accepted this responsibility. He is the type of person who does not look for job titles but has always been willing to get right to work. Matt has spent countless hours helping the caucus. It is going to be great having him in our corner going to bat for our members again, as he has always done,” said Delegate Kipke.

Delegate Morgan was also recently chosen to chair the St. Mary’s County Delegation, charged with vetting and delivering county priorities to Annapolis on behalf of St. Mary’s citizens. He continues to serve on the House Health and Government Operations (HGO) Committee.

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...