News Release, SMECO

SMECO’s Board of Directors has appointed 10 members to the 2019 Nominating Committee scheduled to meet on Wednesday, May 15, 2019, at SMECO’s headquarters at 15035 Burnt Store Road in Hughesville. This committee will select a slate of candidates for the five Board positions to be elected this year. Elections will be held to fill one position in Calvert County, two positions in Charles County, one position in Prince George’s County, and one in St. Mary’s County.

The 2019 Nominating Committee members follow:

  • Calvert County: Kimberly Freeland, Prince Frederick; and Terence N. Gibson, Prince Frederick.
  • Charles County: Joseph L. Gardiner Jr., La Plata; Edward Holland III, Waldorf; and William B. Young Jr., Waldorf.
  • Prince George’s County: Charles E. Clagett, Accokeek; and Ernest H. Riess, Brandywine.
  • St. Mary’s County: Edith M. Bell, Chaptico; George A. Brown, Loveville; and Catherine Brenda Coates, Lexington Park.

SMECO members interested in being nominated should complete a Board of Directors Candidate Application. To obtain a candidate application, contact Terrie Barringer at 240-528-9747 Completed candidate applications should be submitted to SMECO, Attention: Joseph Densford, Board Attorney, by Friday, May 10, 2019. Applications may be mailed to P.O. Box 1937, Hughesville, Maryland 20637, or delivered to Terrie Barringer at 15035 Burnt Store Road in Hughesville.

In addition to nominations made by the committee, any 15 or more SMECO members acting together may make other nominations by petition by Friday, May 31, 2019. Members running by petition should also complete and submit a Board of Directors Candidate Application.

SMECO’s Annual Meeting will be held Thursday, August 29, 2019; however, the election will be conducted by mail and online. Co-op members will receive ballots in the mail. Members may vote online or return their completed ballots by mail prior to the Annual Meeting. The meeting, which will be strictly a business meeting, will be held at Middleton Hall in Waldorf. Election results will be announced at the meeting, but no voting will occur on-site.

Selection of the Nominating Committee members is in compliance with SMECO’s bylaws. For more information regarding the committee, nominations, and qualifications of directors, refer to Article IV, Sections 4.02 and 4.03, of SMECO’s bylaws. Bylaws may be obtained from a SMECO office or online

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...