News Release, Charles County Public Schools

When Brenda Warren started working for Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) 45 years ago, the word internet was not part of her everyday vocabulary. The Gale-Bailey Elementary School media specialist has seen many changes over her career, but nothing, she said, compares with the advancement in the use of technology.

“I remember when we first got an internet-connected computer with an old-style modem with a free account donated to the school system. The first time we logged into the account and accessed the net, it took over five minutes for a single picture to load and three adults crowded around the computer eyes wide in amazement,” Warren said.

Warren began working as a program aide for CCPS in 1973 at Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy Elementary School when it was just Mt. Hope Elementary. She moved to Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School the next year as a classroom assistant and nine years later transferred to Gale-Bailey where she eventually became a library assistant. In 2002, Warren went back to college to finish her degree and earn a master’s to become a media specialist. In 2006, she became the media specialist at Gale-Bailey.

Warren was one of 54 CCPS employees the Board of Education honored for 45, 40, 35, 30 and 25 years of service during its annual longevity awards ceremony on March 28.

45 years of service

  • Brenda Warren, library media specialist, Gale-Bailey

40 years of service

  • Butch Arbin, career & technology resource teacher, James E. Richmond Science Center
  • Lee Clark Sr., mail truck driver, CCPS warehouse
  • Clifford Eichel, director of accountability, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building
  • Charles Kelly, foreman-athletic fields/grounds, CCPS Maintenance Shop
  • Dawn Schaeffer, coordinator of staff development, Starkey Building

35 years of service

  • Joseph Brawner, building service manager, Henry E. Lackey High School
  • Linda Lund, prekindergarten teacher, William B. Wade Elementary School

30 years of service

  • Diane Bicknell, physical therapist, F. B. Gwynn Educational Center
  • Diane Brawner, building service worker, General Smallwood Middle School
  • Melanie Cole, business education teacher, North Point High School
  • Armand DelaCruz, Spanish teacher, Westlake High School
  • Karen Dempsey, learning resource teacher, Malcolm Elementary School
  • Donna DePamphilis, special education teacher/IEP Facilitator, Starkey Building
  • Ernest Downs, foreman, electrical/mechanical group, Maintenance Shop
  • Carl Hamilton, carpenter II, Maintenance Shop
  • Connie Harris, physical education teacher, Westlake
  • Beverly Hoy, psychologist, Starkey Building
  • Elizabeth Jameson, second-grade teacher, T. C. Martin Elementary School
  • Larry P. Johnson, building service assistant manager, Arthur Middleton Elementary School
  • Jeannie Proctor, kindergarten teacher, Berry Elementary School
  • Cherie Reynolds, secretary to the principal, Piccowaxen Middle School
  • Carolyn Richardson, principal, Mary H. Matula Elementary School
  • George Risko, HVAC mechanic II, Maintenance Shop
  • Scott Sisolak, specialist in mathematics, Starkey Building
  • Constance Sorzano, administrative instructional assistant, T. C. Martin
  • Glenn Stergar, computer resource teacher (CISCO), North Point
  • Maureen Stewart, Spanish teacher, North Point
  • Michael Sturman, physical education teacher, La Plata High School
  • Ernestine Swann, guidance secretary, Milton M. Somers Middle School
  • Katrina Thompson, student data technician, Lackey
  • Renee Ward, accounting assistant – accounts payable, Starkey Building
  • Jean Washington, literacy instructional assistant, Maurice J. McDonough High School

25 years of service

  • Joseph Adams, building service manager, C. Paul Barnhart Elementary School
  • James Baker, general maintenance worker II, Maintenance Shop
  • David Bradshaw, physical education teacher, McDonough
  • John Brooks, first-grade teacher, J. P. Ryon Elementary School
  • Denise Childers, English teacher, Robert D. Stethem Educational Center
  • Christine Coulby, social studies teacher, Piccowaxen Middle School
  • Colleen Erickson, home economics – Family & Consumer Science teacher, Thomas Stone High School
  • Rebecca Franch, art teacher, Middleton
  • Apryl Gray, business education teacher, La Plata
  • Suzette Hahn, fifth-grade teacher, Dr. James Craik Elementary School
  • Sean Heyl, English teacher, McDonough
  • Anthony Jones, carpentry teacher, North Point
  • James Lloyd, social studies teacher, Thomas Stone
  • Connie Mattingly, learning resource teacher, Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School
  • Patricia Mooring, vice principal, Malcolm
  • Beverly Payne, secretary, Dr. Samuel A. Mudd Elementary School
  • Mary Sadler, content specialist – middle school math, Starkey Building
  • Darlene Thornton, specialist in transportation, Building 101
  • Tina Warren, physical education teacher, St. Charles High School
  • Lisa Wehausen, instructional specialist, William A. Diggs Elementary School
  • Ann Wilhelm, SAT coordinator, Westlake

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...