The Maryland Teacher of the Year Program, an affiliate of the National Teacher of the Year program, serves all 24 Maryland school districts. Three Maryland State Teachers were selected and named National Teachers of the Year and 3 additional candidates were named National Finalists. 

Ms. Jennifer Cord is the nominee from St. Mary’s County for the Maryland Teacher of the Year award. The 2018-2019 Maryland Teacher of the Year was Dr. Richard Warren, Jr of Somerset County Public Schools, Crisfield High School and Academy. Finalists are typically announced in August, with the winner being announced in October.

The Maryland Teacher of the Year participates in numerous national events, speaks to audiences throughout Maryland and beyond and receives monetary awards, technology equipment, and other prizes including the gift of a new car from the Maryland Automobile Dealers’ Association.

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...