News Release, Charles County Public Schools

More than 250 teams – including 49 from Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) – competed at the Maryland Destination Imagination (DI) Tournament held March 30 at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County.

A total of 21 teams were recognized for placing among the top five teams in their respective challenges, with six teams placing first or second. Teams that earn a first- or second-place place award at the state event advance to the Global Finals Tournament set for May 21-26 in Kansas City, Missouri.

The following CCPS teams advance to the global DI tournament next month.

On Target challenge:

  • First place, middle-school level: Piccowaxen Middle School, Pangea Pineapples team. Members include students Steven McPhee, Riley Herbert, Addison Herbert, James Peterson, Addison Pfleegor, Savannah Trice and Shelby VanCleaf.

Game On challenge:

  • First place, elementary-school level: Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School, Jolly Razzleteers team. Student members are Scarlet Madden, Sarah Pendergist, Emalie Pfleegor, Aaron Bullard, Abigail Higdon, Ferris Poff and Madison Krupa. This team was also recognized for having the highest Instant Challenge score in their challenge and level.

Monster Effects challenge:

  • Second place, middle-school level: General Smallwood Middle School, ‘Weight’sted Potential team. Members include students Kaylee Alvey, Anna Martin, Jeremiah Seger, Tiwaloluwa Dapo-Adeyemo, Grace Klaas and Zachariah Kershner.
  • Second place, high-school level: North Point High School, North Point Half’N ½…ish team. Student members include Charlyn Rae Canonizado, Elizabeth Gerstman, Ifeanyi Ijezie, Karly Iriarte, Robert Polk, Chase Drewery and Sydney Prince.

Escape Artists challenge:

  • First place, high-school level: North Point, North Point DI Travelers team. Student members include Mary Ardita, Michelle Esparza-Pulido, Christen Watson, Danny Beverly and Samantha Frias.
  • Second place, high-school level: Henry E. Lackey High School and North Point, Little Rascals team. Student members include Hunter Paulin, Anujin Nyamgaltaa, Kritika Oli, Anastazia Scherer and Temi “James” Dapo-Adeyemo.

The following teams placed in the top five in their respective challenges at the state tournament:

On Target challenge:

  • Third place, high-school level: North Point, Magnificent 7 team. Student members include Takiyah Roberts, Erica Rodriquez, Olukemi Harris, Dadani Harris, Ajani Witherspoon, Damon Burnette and Ajay Hill.
  • Fourth place, elementary-school level: William A. Diggs Elementary School, Shocking Lightning Bolts team. Student members are Zainab Ramakdawala, Lyla Smith, Kayden Richardson, Tylor McAlpine, Desmond Nolan, Amie Phillips and Sophie Tesfazion. This team also received the Renaissance Award, which recognizes teams that demonstrate exceptional skill in the areas of engineering, design or performance.

Medical Mystery challenge:

  • Fifth place, high-school level: North Point, North Point … team. Student members are Mehr Singh, Aliah Brown, Kritchanin Yampai, Mary Anne Onianwah, Kyrene Ramirez, Aliyah Malazarte and Almazi Matthews.

Game On challenge:

  • Fourth place, high-school level: St. Charles High School, Final Destination team. Student members include Robersha Harlan, Jaslyn Tabourne, Faith Washington, Jennifer Mendoza, Kissaiah Brown, Armani Givens and Autumn Tilghman.
  • Fifth place, middle-school level: Theodore G. Davis Middle School, The Elemelons team. Members include students Celia Salazar-Walker, Suki Aumavae, Rachel Bennett, Kaelyn Buoy, Taylor Gray, Aaliyah Jamison and Emily Ohlinger.
  • Fifth place, high-school level: North Point and Davis, Players team. Student members include Heather Van Brunt, Shakira Rodriguez, Christian Middleton, Graciella Ndjampa and Alena Gray.

Heads Up challenge:

  • Third place, middle-school level: Milton M. Somers Middle School, Funnyuns Improv-ers team. Student members are Autumn Forsythe, Kaylee Robles and Alyssa Robles.

Monster Effects challenge:

  • Third place, high-school level: North Point, Dynamic Imaginatiors team. Student members include Alyssa Rios, Dominic Rios, Nehemiah Strawberry, Katherine Akins, Cameron Robey and Rebecca Tillman.
  • Fourth place, middle-school level: Smallwood, Distracted team. Student members include Alexia McVey-Sprouse, James Ruffin, Erin Cooley, Kyle Brough, Carolina Walter and Austin Keys.
  • Fourth place, high-school level: La Plata High School, Nuclear Rainbow Crush team. Student members include Emily Winkler, Brett Michael, Nathan Michael, Taylor Peterson, Scott Kelly, Dylan Tompkins and Christine Wang.

Escape Artists challenge:

  • Third place, elementary-school level: Dr. James Craik Elementary School, Roaring Imaginators team. Members include students Riley Mullikin, Lily Oliver, Logan Zimmerman, Ariella Bustamante, Fiona Wu, Julia Harty and Elizabeth Dolan.
  • Third place, middle-school level: Matthew Henson Middle School, TBFPSP team. Student members include Zara Ramakdawala, Griffin Hayes, Wesley Moore, Giselle Leblanc and Farah Leblanc.
  • Third place, high-school level: Benjamin Stoddert Middle School, Destination SaveANation team. Student members include Amara Kazim, Grace Adams, Ihshan Kazim, Keeva Morgan, Amira Clark, Ricaria Lawson and Lorenz Bulos.
  • Fifth place, high-school level: North Point, North Point @TDE team. Student members include Joshua Copeland, McKenzee Cooper, Alyssa Linkins, Queen Osei and Kaden Robinson.
  • Fifth place, elementary-school level: J.C. Parks Elementary School, Rainbow Collectors team. Student members include Xavier Revelle, Jessica Forbes, Zamaree Hart, Jayna Jones, Brianna Pearson and Nia Sparrow.

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...