News Release, St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office

The men and women of the St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office were recognized for professional excellence during 2018 on May 7, 2019 at its annual Awards Banquet, held at the Bay District Volunteer Fire Department Social Hall in Lexington Park.

Gold Medal of Valor: DFC Jason Bush 
In fighting cancer, DFC Bush distinguished himself by demonstrating extraordinary heroism and uncommon valor, all in keeping with the highest traditions of law enforcement and reflected great credit upon himself, his patrol squad and the St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office. Despite being ill while receiving treatment, DFC Bush asked to work light duty in the quartermaster’s office, putting the welfare of his colleagues and the agency ahead of his own. His calm courage in the storm of cancer is an inspiration to us all, as is his commitment, bravery and determination.

DFC Jason Bush 

Deputy of the Year: Cpl. David Potter

Cpl. Potter puts forth a maximum effort during his shift, responding to a high volume of calls for service. He has a working knowledge of the residents and businesses in his patrol area and is often relied upon by other officers to identify possible suspects in active investigations. He stays current with crime trends and self-initiates enforcement to deter crimes in his patrol area. (photo unavailable)

Correctional Officer of the Year: Correctional Officer First Class Melissa Dodson

As a Pretrial Case Manager, CFC Dodson’s responsibilities include interviewing inmates to verify their residence, employment, education and other personal information. She then completes a validated risk assessment and presents the information to the courts, allowing the judge to make a more informed decision regarding public safety and court appearance.

On several occasions, she volunteered to come in early and stay late in order to complete pretrial tasks. CFC Dodson continues to assist with female transports and operations with overtime by working a post. The St. Mary’s County Detention and Rehabilitation Pretrial Services program is held as the gold-standard model in Maryland and this is a direct reflection of CFC Dodson’s dedication and work ethic.

Sheriff Tim Cameron and CFC Melissa Dodson

Civilian of the Year: Glenda Thompson

Without a doubt, Ms. Thompson is a dedicated employee of the Sheriff’s Office; not only does she ensure the smooth and efficient operation of the detention center by her assigned duties and responsibilities, she willingly accepts assignments which greatly increase workplace morale. Her positive demeanor and willingness to go over and above to increase staff and inmate morale is an invaluable asset to the Office of the Sheriff.

Sheriff Tim Cameron and Glenda Thompson

Sgt. Nolan Scully Memorial NCO Award: Sgt. Cory Ellis

Sgt. Cory Ellis, an 8 1/2 year veteran of the St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office, was selected as the recipient of the Sgt. Nolan Scully Memorial NCO Award for his selfless and fearless qualities, his abilities at solving problems and his role as a mentor for other law enforcement officers.

Sheriff Tim Cameron, Sgt. Cory Ellis and Ruth Scully 

Bronze Medal of Valor: Cpl. Brian Connelly and Sgt. Harold Young

In April 2018, Cpl. Connelly and Sgt. Young distinguished themselves by their heroic actions while assisting in the search of an elderly missing person with Alzheimer’s disease. The two deputies located the man in a cold and muddy swamp and brought the man to safety.

Sheriff Tim Cameron, Cpl. Brian Connelly and Sgt. Harold Young 

Rookie of the Year: Deputy Tyler Westphal

During a recent shooting, Deputy Westphal volunteered to provide scene security. When asked why, he said there might be something he learns which will help him in the future. Deputy Westphal seeks out training to improve his skills and is constantly researching criminal and traffic laws to ensure he is properly performing his duties.

Sheriff Tim Cameron and Deputy Tyler Westphal 

Corrections Rookie of the Year: Correctional Officer Joshua Crow

Correctional Officer Crow has shown more motivation, readiness and drive for the profession in his first year than some officers show in their first five years. He has been a key asset to his squad by helping other squad members without asking, taking overtime and seeking training and opportunities within the agency for advancement.

Sheriff Tim Cameron and CO Joshua Crow 

Meritorious Action: Cpl. Angela Delozier, Cpl. Kenneth Flerlage, Cpl. Steven Kerby, Deputy John Fenwick, Cpl. David Potter, Sgt. William Radditz and David Koenig

Sheriff Tim Cameron and Cpl. Angela Delozier 
Sheriff Tim Cameron and Cpl. Steven Kerby 

Lifesaving: DFC Carl Ball, DFC Gerard Muschette, DFC Lacey Smith and CO Alexander Tasciotti

Meritorious Service: Lt. Kenneth Cusic, Cpl. Angela Delozier and Rhonda Wathen

Sheriff Tim Cameron and Rhonda Wathen 

Team awards: Pretrial Supervision and Patrol Squad 1B

During the last three years, the St. Mary’s County Pretrial Services unit has had a consistent 99 percent court appearance rate and a 90 percent public safety rating. Due to the team’s continued hard work and dedication, the St. Mary’s County Detention and Rehabilitation’s Pretrial Supervision program has made an impact locally, statewide, nationally and internationally.

Sheriff Tim Cameron, Kristie Ardire, Cpl. Mickey Adkins and CFC Melissa Dodson

In 2018, members of Patrol Squad 1B were challenged to commit themselves to increasing proactive enforcement efforts and becoming leaders among their peers. The challenge was accepted and members of Patrol Squad 1B performed in an exemplary manner, exceeding expectations.

Sheriff Tim Cameron and members of Patrol Squad 1B 

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...