Hollidge Blitz’s RUSH Late Model Field

By Doug Watson

Budds Creek, MD- Fairfield Virginia’s Samuel Bryant prevailed to take top honors in last Saturday nights 30-lap “Kevin Cooke Memorial” Limited Late Model finale at Potomac Speedway. The win for Bryant, worth $1222, came steering his Rocket no.20 and would be his first career feature win at the Southern Maryland bull ring.

Kyle Lear shot from the pole to take the race lead as the field drove off turn two with Tyler Emory in tow. Lear looked like a potential winner until his car lost power on the 10th lap, collecting Emory in the wake.

The ensuing restart would change the complexion of the event. Michael Alderman, the beneficiary of Lear’s departure, would lead the field to green but would tangle with Bruce Kane as they entered turn one ending his run. Samuel Bryant became the new leader and would hold off Tyler Emory, who came from the rear of the field, to collect the breakthrough win. “We got lucky tonight,” Bryant stated post-race. “We had a good car tonight and I knew if I could hold it on the bottom those last few laps we’d be tough to pass and it worked out great tonight.” Bruce Kane took third with Same Archer and Dale Groah completing the top-five.

Dale Hollidge scored a dominating win in the companion 30-lap RUSH Late Model feature. Hollidge blasted from his second starting spot and would lead the duration taking the $1000 victory aboard his Rocket no.0 for his 5th win of the 2019 season over Jamie Sutphin. “The track was a lot different tonight than it was last night in qualifying and we had our car pretty decent.” Quipped Hollidge. “This is a tough class but we seem to have our program headed in the right direction.” Jeremy Pilkerton took third with Jonathan Raley and Mike Raleigh rounding out the top-five.

Ed Pope Jr. capped off his championship season with his win in the 30-lap “Dale Reamy Sr. Memorial” Street Stock event. The win for Pope, worth $2056, was his 8th win of the season and career 22nd for the now three-time class champion. The heads-up start placed Pope on the pole and he would eventually lead all 30-laps.

Eventual runner-up Craig Parrill dogged Pope the entire way but never got close enough to mount a serious challenge. “I have wanted to win this race forever and we finally got it done.” A jubilant Pope stated in victory lane. “We’ve had so many ups and downs this year and I can’t thank all the crew and sponsors for sticking with me through it all.” Mike Desch, Ben Hamilton and Charles Wyant trailed at the finish.

In support class action, Colin Long drove to his 4th win of the season in a thrilling 25-lap lap Hobby Stock feature, 2019 champion John Hardesty and Nabil Guffey split twin 20-lap Strictly Stock events with Mark Pollard and Tim Steele scoring 20-lap U-Car features.

Limited Late Model feature finish
1. Samuel Bryant 2. Tyler Emory 3. Bruce Kane 4. Sam Archer 5. Dale Groah 6. Barry Lear Sr. 7. Kyle Lear 8. Michael Alderman 9. Lewis Hudson 10. Walter Crouch 11. Josh Williams 12. Scott Wilson 13. Colin Long 14. DJ Groft

Limited Late Models-Samuel Bryant

RUSH Late Model feature finish
1. Dale Hollidge 2. Jamie Sutphin 3. Jeremy Pilkerton 4. Jonathan Raley 5. Mike Raleigh 6. Ben Bowie 7. Chuck Bowie 8. James Sparks 9. Megan Mann 10. Austin Bussler 11. Brad Rigdon 12. Ronnie Martin Jr. 13. Brian Coe Jr. 14. Carl Vaughn

RUSH Late Models-Dale Hollidge

Street Stock feature finish
1. Ed Pope Jr. 2. Craig Parrill 3. Mike Desch 4. Ben Hamilton 5. Charles Wyant 6. TJ Henry 7. Adam Breeden 8. Deuce Wright 9. Earl Brooks 10. Ben Pirner 11. Marty Hanbury 12. Zach Myers 13. Dylan Welsh 14. Dylan Rutherford 15. PJ Hatcher 16. Craig Tankersley 17. Brandon Lowery 18. Danny Zechman 19. Paul Jones

Street Stocks-Ed Pope Jr.

Hobby Stock feature finish
1. Colin Long 2. Buddy Dunagan 3. Hilton Pickeral 4. Mikey Latham 5. Kyle Nelson 6. Stevie Gingery 7. Cody Breeden 8. Greg Morgan 9. Tommy Randall 10. Mason Hanson 11. Kevin Mayes 12. Jeff Dillon 13. Jerry Deason 14. James Rainey 15. Trent Clemens 16. Brent Bordeaux 17. Bryan Neff 18. George O’Neal 19. Wyatt Hanson 20. Brian Jacobs

Hobby Stocks-Colin Long

U Car’s (Friday)
1. Tim Steele 2. Larry Lamb 3. Dominic King 4. Kyle Randall 5. Joey Suite 6. Owen Lacey 7. Kevin Oates 8. Mark Pollard 9. Brian Johnson 10. Savannah Windsor 11. Stephen Suite

U Cars (Friday) Tim Steele

U Car’s (Saturday)
1. Mark Pollard 2. Kevin Oates 3. Savannah Windsor 4. Tim Steele 5. Kyle Randall 6. Larry Lamb 7. Joey Suite 8. Dominic King 9. Stephanie Homberg 10. Owen Lacey

U Cars (Saturday) Mark Pollard

Strictly Stocks (Friday)
1. Nabil Guffey 2. John Hardesty 3. Jeff Bloch 4. Johnny Hardesty 5. Damian Pulver 6. Casey Sheckles 7. Daniel Knodle 8. Bryan Allen

Strictly Stocks (Friday) Nabil Guffey

Strictly Stocks (Saturday)
1. John Hardesty 2. Nabil Guffey 3. Johnny Hardesty 4. Bryan Allen 5. Casey Sheckles 6. Daniel Knodle

Strictly Stocks (Saturday) John Hardesty

All images courtesy of Larry BurnettWRT

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...