News Release, The XFL

The DC Defenders will make history on Saturday, Feb. 8 when they host the Seattle Dragons at Audi Field inthe first game of the 2020 XFL season.

With the XFL Draft in the books and mini-camp just around the corner, it’s time toget to know the playersyou will be cheering for come Week 1 of the XFL season.

The Defenders’ 70-man roster is made up ofNational Champions at the FBS, FCS, DII and DIII levels, Super Bowl champions and Grey Cup champions— including namesfrom 26 different statesand three countries.


60 of the 70 players on the DC Defenders roster have been a part of an NFL organization. The Miami Dolphins are the only NFL team to not have a former player on the DC Defenders roster.

  • 9Giants
  • 8Bills, Browns, Eagles, Saints
  • 7Bears
  • 6Panthers, Texans
  • 5Lions, Jaguars, Packers, Patriots, Raiders
  • 4Bengals, Chargers, Chiefs, Jets, Ravens, Titans, Redskins
  • 3Buccaneers, Cowboys, Falcons, Seahawks, Steelers
  • 2Broncos, Cardinals, Colts, Rams, Vikings
  • 149ers
  • 0Dolphins


Of the 70 players on the DC Defenders roster, 13 were selected in the NFL Draft.

Round 1:S Matt Elam (No. 32, Ravens. 2013)

Round 2:CB Rahim Moore (No. 45, Broncos. 2011)

Round 3:DE Sam Montgomery (No. 95, Texans. 2013)

Round 4:TE Orson Charles (No. 116, Bengals. 2012), CB Doran Grant (No. 121, Steelers. 2015), RB Donnel Pumphrey (No. 132, Eagles. 2017), QB Cardale Jones (No. 139, Bills. 2016)

Round 5:None

Round 6:OT Kyle Murphy (No. 200, Packers. 2016), DT Kristjan Sokoli (No. 214, Seahawks. 2015), DT Elijah Qualls (No. 214, Eagles. 2017)

Round 7:CB Jalen Myrick (No. 222, Jaguars. 2017), WR Tre McBride (No. 245, Titans. 2015), LB Scooby Wright (No. 250, Browns. 2016)

The 70 players on the DC Defenders represent 54 different programs for all levels of collegiate football.

57 of the 70 Defenders played for FBS programs, with 39 different teams represented. The Defenders roster features 12 players from 10 different FCS (I-AA) programs, four players from four different DIII and one DII player.


Buffalo (4):DE Charles Harris, QB Tyree Jackson, C James O’Hagan, DT Kristjan Sokoli

Ohio State (4):OG Chase Farris, CB Doran Grant, QB Cardale Jones, DT Tracy Sprinkle

Stanford (4):OT Kyle Murphy, LB AJ Tarpley, LB James Vaughters, OT Casey Tucker

Penn State (3):LB Koa Farmer, RB John Thomas, WR De’Andre Thompkins

James Madison (3):RB Khalid Abdullah, WR Terrence Alls, WR Rashard Davids

Georgia Tech (2):DE KeShun Freeman, WR Justin Thomas

Minnesota (2):LB Jonathan Celestin, CB Jalen Myrick

Alabama (2):WR Richard Mullaney, CB Bradley Sylve

Kentucky (2):LB Jordan Jones, C Jon Toth

LSU (2):DE Sam Montgomery, OT Toby Weathersby


AAC:Cincinnati, Temple

ACC:Georgia Tech (2), Clemson, Duke, Louisville, Miami, NC State, North Carolina, Syracuse

Big Ten:Ohio State (4), Penn State (3), Minnesota (2), Maryland, Michigan, Northwestern

CAA (FCS):James Madison (3), Towson, William & Mary

C-USA:Marshall, UAB, UTEP

MWC:Colorado State, New Mexico, San Diego State

MVC (FCS):Indiana State, Missouri State, Northern Iowa

Pac-12:Stanford (4), Arizona, Arizona State, Oregon State, Southern Cal, UCLA, Washington

SEC: Alabama (2), Kentucky (2), LSU (2), Florida, Georgia, Missouri, South Carolina

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...