Support Local Journalism


Your contribution is appreciated.

Thank you for all of your comments, ideas, photos and support!

Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) hosted its annual fall chess tournament Oct. 24 in person at Thomas Stone High School. To accommodate COVID-19 social distancing and safety guidelines, this year’s fall tournament was limited to students in Grades 4-12.

A total of 38 students competed in three rounds of grade-level division play, and one champion was named per grade level. Top finishers also were named in each division. Champions received a trophy and top finishers received medals. Felix Cummings served as the tournament director.

The following students earned awards in their respective division.

Grade 4

  • Karsten Villanueva, William A. Diggs Elementary School, champion;
  • Audrey Chinault, Malcom Elementary School, top finisher;
  • Zeyad Elayyadi, William B. Wade Elementary School, top finisher;
  • Caleb Halverstadt, homeschool, top finisher;
  • Mackenzie Mears, Grace Lutheran, top finisher;
  • Lionel Saravia, Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer Elementary School, top finisher;
  • Hrishi Soni, Mary H. Matula Elementary School, top finisher; and
  • Caden States, Berry Elementary School, top finisher.

Grade 5

  • James McDonald, T.C. Martin Elementary School, champion;
  • Andrew Cook, Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School, top finisher;
  • Lilyana Forrest, Billingsley Elementary School, top finisher;
  • Jabari Ghee, Diggs, top finisher;
  • Aurora Larkin, Billingsley, top finisher; and
  • Rowan Leonard, Dr. Thomas L. Higdon Elementary School.

Grade 6

  • Joshua Butson, John Hanson Middle School, champion;
  • William Burke, Hanson, top finisher;
  • Zephaniah Greene, Theodore G. Davis Middle School, top finisher; and
  • Gregory Lavender, Davis, top finisher.

Grade 7

  • Mason Truesdell, Piccowaxen Middle School, champion; and
  • Austin Michael, Davis, top finisher.

Grade 8

  • Alfred Johann Cruz, Mattawoman Middle School, champion;
  • Unison Joshi, Mattawoman, top finisher;
  • Sean Robertson, Piccowaxen, top finisher;
  • Caleb Rogalski, Piccowaxen, top finisher;
  • Manav Soni, Milton M. Somers Middle School, top finisher; and
  • Corey Thomas, Mattawoman, top finisher.

Grade 9

  • Joshua Dieterle, La Plata High School, champion;
  • Anthony Crooks, La Plata, top finisher;
  • Madison Gaynor, North Point High School, top finisher; and
  • Joseph Miller, St. Charles High School, top finisher.

Grade 10

  • Andrew Miller, St. Charles, champion.

Grade 11

  • Caden Simpson, St. Charles, champion.

Grade 12

  • Joey Papagno, North Point, champion;
  • Reece Leonard, La Plata, top finisher;
  • Jacob Miller, St. Charles, top finisher;
  • Sahil Patel, North Point, top finisher;
  • Christopher Snyder, St. Charles, top finisher; and
  • Kort Wise, St. Charles, top finisher.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply