BROCKPORT, N.Y. – The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) announced the 2021 NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad on Thursday morning. The St. Mary’s College of Maryland field hockey team had 15 of their players named to the National Academic Squad.

The Seahawk contingent was part of over 2,300 student-athletes from 161 schools to be selected to the National Academic Squad. The NFHCA National Academic Squad program, sponsored by OPA Winning Teams, honors collegiate student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade-point average of 3.3 or higher through the first semester of the current academic year, and were nominated by their NFHCA member coach.

Representing St. Mary’s College were:

CarlsonCorder, and Lansbury are making the National Academic Squad for the fourth consecutive year.

Johns Hopkins University led all institutions with the most National Academic Squad selections this year, placing 31 student-athletes on the list.

Since 2000, St. Mary’s College has earned 266 National Academic Squad selections.

View the full list of honorees on the NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad here.

In its inaugural season in the Atlantic East, St. Mary’s College (10-8) posted an undefeated league record of 5-0, clinching the No. 1 seed in the 2021 Atlantic East Conference Championship Tournament. The Seahawks finished as the tournament runners-up, falling 2-1 in double overtime to Cabrini University in the championship game on Saturday, November 6.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply