The Calvert County Board of County Commissioners recognized the implementation of the Calvert Alliance Against Substance Abuse (CAASA), Inc. Designated Driver Campaign from Dec.1 through Jan. 2, 2018. The Designated Driver Campaign provides a unique opportunity for Calvert County restaurants, clubs, bars and civic/service organizations to join forces with Calvert County residents in promoting impaired driving prevention efforts.

It is essential that all Calvert County citizens be aware of the importance of prevention programs and the impact citizen participation has on reducing impaired driving crashes in Calvert County. Citizens are urged to choose a designated driver for any upcoming holiday parties they may attend and not provide alcohol to those under the age of 21. Join CAASA, Calvert County Sheriff’s Office (CCSO) and Maryland State Police (MSP) in supporting the Designated Driver Campaign and stay safe this holiday season.

Pictured in the front row from left are: CCSO Lt. Col. Dave McDowell, Commissioner Pat Nutter, CAASA Board of Directors President Kristen DePhillip, Sheriff Mike Evans, MSP Commander Lt. Jimmy Meurrens, MSP Trooper 1st Class (TFC) James Warrick, TFC Natasha Rucker, TFC Shawn Matthews, TFC Phillip Kaitz, MSP 1st Sgt. Scaina Roach and CCSO Cpl. Tony Moschetto. Back row: CCSO Sgt. Jason Dean, CCSO Capt. Dave Payne, Commissioner Mike Hart, CCSO Lt. Roscoe Jones, Commissioner President Tom Hejl, CCSO Deputy 1st Class (DFC) Justin Livingston, Commissioner Vice President Evan K. Slaughenhoupt Jr., CCSO Sgt. Ricky Cox, CCSO Deputy Nicholas Buckler, TFC William Costello and Commissioner Steven R. Weems. Not pictured are DFC Dean Naughton and Deputy Robert Shrawder.