The School Board Appointment Commission of Anne Arundel County has received five applications for the vacant District 32 seat on the Board of Education, and will interview those candidates at a meeting on January 31, 2018.

The following people submitted applications:

  • Sidney Butcher of Hanover
  • Ashley Johnson of Severn
  • Alyson Kwon of Hanover
  • Sun Kwon of Hanover
  • Brenda Schwaab of Linthicum

Application packages of all candidates are available online at

The 13-member Commission will meet to interview candidates at 7 p.m. on January 31, 2018, in the Board Room of Anne Arundel County Public Schools’ Carol Sheffey Parham Building, located at 2644 Riva Road in Annapolis.

A meeting to select a candidate is set for 7 p.m. on February 14, 2018, at the same location.

During their January 31 interviews, candidates will have up to three minutes to make an opening statement. Each of the Commissioners will then have up to three minutes to question each candidate.

Commission meetings are open to the public and televised live on AACPS-TV, which can be found on Channel 96 on Comcast and Broadstripe, and Channel 36 on Verizon. High definition broadcasts can be seen on Channel 996 on Comcast, Channel 496 on Broadstripe, and Channel 1961 on Verizon. Meetings are also broadcast live on the internet here.

A complete list of Commissioners and other information related to the Commission can be found at