The mailing addresses for the County Government Building and the Department of Emergency Services will be updated starting on March 1, 2018.  All mail sent on or after this date should be addressed to:

Charles County Government

200 Baltimore Street

La Plata, MD 20646

Charles County Department of Emergency Services

10425 Audie Lane

La Plata, MD 20646

Any mail sent to the original post office box address (P.O. Box 2150, 200 Baltimore Street, La Plata, 20646) will be forwarded for six months. County Treasury and water/sewer postal office boxes are not affected by this change and will remain the same.

For additional information, contact Building Security Officer John McConnell by email at or phone at 301-885-1310. Citizens with special needs may contact the Maryland Relay Service at 711, or Relay Service TDD: 800-735-2258.

About Charles County Government

The mission of Charles County Government is to provide our citizens the highest quality service possible in a timely, efficient and courteous manner. To achieve this goal, our government must be operated in an open and accessible atmosphere, be based on comprehensive long- and short-term planning and have an appropriate managerial organization tempered by fiscal responsibility. We support and encourage efforts to grow a diverse workplace. Charles County is a place where all people thrive and businesses grow and prosper; where the preservation of our heritage and environment is paramount; where government services to its citizens are provided at the highest level of excellence; and where the quality of life is the best in the nation.

It is the policy of Charles County to provide equal employment opportunity to all persons regardless of race, color, sex, age, national origin, religious or political affiliation or opinion, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, genetic information, gender identity or expression, or any other status protected by law.