WASHINGTON — U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos today convened an organizational meeting of the Federal Commission on School Safety. This was the first meeting among principal members with jurisdiction over school safety issues including Secretary DeVos, Attorney General Jeff Sessions, Secretary of Health and Human Services Alex Azar and Secretary of Homeland Security Kirstjen Nielsen.

The Commission discussed staffing, the timeline for future meetings with stakeholders, coordination with State and local partners, the scope of the Commission’s work and how best to incorporate stakeholder input on the issue areas President Donald Trump directed the Commission to study.

Those with recommendations on how to increase school safety can send them to safety@ed.gov.