The Board of Education’s next monthly meeting is Tuesday, June 12 at the Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building on Radio Station Road in La Plata. The public portion of the meeting begins at 1 p.m. and student and staff recognition starts at 4:30 p.m. The meeting is televised live on Comcast Channel 96 and Verizon FiOS Channel 12 and is rebroadcast throughout the week.

Board meetings are streamed live on the school system website at Select the live streaming image displayed in the center of the home page. The following is a tentative meeting agenda and is subject to change.

Executive session – 12 p.m.

Call to order – 1 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance, La Plata High School

Swearing-in of new Student Member to the Board

Recognition of student state winners/Unified Sports presentation

Contract vote/signing – American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees and Education Association of Charles County

Superintendent’s update

Reports of officers/boards/committees

  • Correspondence/Board Member updates
  • Education Association of Charles County update
  • American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees update
  • Student Board Member update
  • Block schedule
  • Pre- and post-test results
  • Project status update
  • Bus contract
  • Communications update
  • Policy 3000 series committee
  • Be the Difference committee
  • Goals committee

Unfinished business

New business and future agenda items

  • New business – FY 2019 tuition rates
  • New business – Daily/hourly wage rates
  • Future agenda items

Recognition – 4:30 p.m.

  • Washington Post Principal of the Year Awards program: Kathleen Morgan, principal, Dr. Thomas L. Higdon Elementary School
  • Outstanding Vice Principal of the Year Award: Benjamin Harrington, vice principal, Dr. James Craik Elementary School
  • Washington Post Teacher of the Year Awards program: Cynthia Pryor, first-grade teacher, William. A. Diggs Elementary School
  • Maryland Teacher of the Year Awards program: Lynn Hopkins, language arts teacher, Milton M. Somers Middle School
  • Outstanding Support Staff Awards: Clifton Shorter, building service manager, Mattawoman Middle School; Anne Zabel, preschool instructional assistant, C. Paul Barnhart Elementary School; Justin Lucchesi, computer analyst, Henry E. Lackey High School; Robert Bruce, HVAC mechanic, Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) maintenance shop; Sharon Bautista, student data technician, La Plata High School; and Shelley Mackey, communications specialist, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building.

Public Forum – 6 p.m.

Action items

  • Minutes
  • Personnel
  • Policy 4000
  • Educational Facilities Master Plan
  • Operating budget


Executive session 

About CCPS

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,900 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 36 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Nikial Majors, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.