Starting Oct. 1, 2018, Maryland’s Move Over Law expands to now include transportation, service and utility vehicles, as well as waste and recycling trucks, with yellow or amber flashing lights or signal devices. These vehicles join the list of protected vehicles under the state’s current Move Over Law, which include emergency response and law enforcement vehicles, as well as tow trucks.
The law requires drivers approaching from the rear of vehicles with red, yellow, or amber flashing lights that are stopped, standing or parked along the highway to, whenever possible, move over a lane. This movement should only be done if another lane in the same direction is available and the move can be made safely and without impeding other traffic.
If the driver is unable to make a lane change, the law requires drivers to slow to a reasonable and prudent speed that is safe for existing conditions while passing the emergency or service vehicles.
Motor vehicle-related incidents are consistently the leading cause of work-related fatalities in the United States.
In Maryland, a violation of the Move Over Law is a misdemeanor. The fine is $110 and the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration must assess one point against the driver’s license. If the violation contributes to a crash, the fine is $150 and three points against the driver’s license. If the violation results in death or serious bodily injury, the fine is $750.