Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) held its annual fall chess tournament on Saturday, Oct. 20 at Thomas Stone High School. A total of 125 students participated in the event, which is open to any student in kindergarten through Grade 12.

The tournament follows a Swiss-style format in which each student plays four games. Students compete in eight grade-level divisions and trophies are given to division champions. Students who earn a top finisher award in their respective categories receive a medal, and all participants receive a certificate for their performance.

Felix Cummings served as the tournament director. The following students were recognized for placing in their division:

Kindergarten through First Grade

  • Luke McDonald, kindergarten, Goddard School, champion
  • Derek Fletcher, kindergarten, Mary H. Matula Elementary School, top finisher
  • Sophia McDonald, kindergarten, Goddard School, top finisher
  • Neha Mahato, first grade, J.P. Ryon Elementary School, top finisher

Second-Grade Division

  • Noah Sabol, Dr. James Craik Elementary School, champion
  • Mackenzie Mears, Dr. Thomas L. Higdon Elementary School, top finisher
  • Hrishi Soni, Matula, top finisher

Third-Grade Division

  • Aundre Dudley Jr., William A. Diggs Elementary School, champion
  • Gregory Fletcher, Matula, top finisher
  • Elijah Jones, William B. Wade Elementary School, top finisher
  • Matthew Sayers, Matula, top finisher

Fourth-Grade Division

  • Destiny Dudley, Diggs, champion
  • Cordell Cade, Diggs, top finisher
  • Emily Cooley, Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy Elementary School, top finisher
  • Jesse Hodgson, Matula, top finisher
  • Sophia Hughes, Wade, top finisher

Fifth-Grade Division

  • Nathanael Jean-Gilles, Wade, champion
  • Simon Dean, Diggs, top finisher
  • Jacob Golder, Matula, top finisher
  • Isaac Graham, Diggs, top finisher
  • Jaylah Stephenson, Wade, top finisher
  • Mason Truesdell, Higdon, top finisher

Sixth-Grade Division

  • Sean Robertson, Piccowaxen Middle School, champion
  • Ricardo Daniels, Milton M. Somers Middle School, top finisher
  • Kaleb Hakin, Somers, top finisher
  • Chance Rodwell, Matthew Henson Middle School, top finisher
  • Caleb Rogalski, Piccowaxen, top finisher
  • Manav Soni, Somers, top finisher

Seventh- and Eighth-Grade Division

  • Rahul Mahato, Hanson, champion
  • Suki Aumavae, Theodore G. Davis Middle School, top finisher
  • Adrian Harada, Benjamin Stoddert Middle School, top finisher
  • Andrew Miller, Somers, top finisher
  • Benjamin Moore, Somers, top finisher

Ninth- through Twelfth-Grade Division

  • Sahil Patel, sophomore, North Point High School, champion
  • Christopher Snyder, sophomore, St. Charles High School, top finisher
  • Jacob Stern, sophomore, North Point, top finisher
  • James Tabourne, senior, North Point, top finisher