By Justin Gordon ·

Buena Vista, Va. – The St. Mary’s College of Maryland men’s cross country team placed seventh overall Saturday morning at the 2018 Capital Athletic Conference Men’s Cross Country Championships hosted by Southern Virginia University at Vista Links Golf Course.

The Basics:

  • Place – 7th of 8/215 points
  • Location – Buena Vista, Va. – Vista Links Golf Course – Southern Virginia University (Host)

St. Mary’s Top 5 Finishers:

  • Senior captain James Judlick (Baltimore, Md./Perry Hall) was the first Seahawk to cross the finish line of the 8K course as Judlick came in with a time of 29:08.0 which was good enough for 46th overall.
  • First-year Tyler Wilson (Silver Spring, Md./Einstein) was not far behind as Wilson ran a 29:50.6 for 63rd overall.
  • Senior captain Adam Scrivener (Prince Frederick, Md./Huntingtown) finished his career as the third Seahawk to finish with a time of 31:06.6 for 82nd among the field of 116 competitors.
  • Junior Joseph McManus (Chevy Chase, Md./Bethesda Chevy Chase) and senior Zack Walker (St. Leonard, Md./Calvert) rounded out St. Mary’s top-five runners to finish as McManus ran a 31:27.2 for 86th place and Walker posted a time of 32:01.1 for 93rd overall.
James Judlick ’19 – Photo Credit: Bill Wood

Other Race Highlights

  • Senior Randy Larsen (Huntingtown, Md./Huntingtown) competed in his final CAC championship race, finishing in 104th place with a time of 33:35.4.
  • York College of Pennsylvania dethroned three-time defending champion Christopher Newport University by two points (49-51) for its fourth CAC title.
  • Jeff Gibson of the University of Mary Washington came in first overall with a time of 26:06.0.

Up Next for the Seahawks

  • The Seahawks will take the next two weeks to prepare for the NCAA Division III Mideast Regional Championship on Saturday, November 10. DeSales University in Center Valley, Pennsylvania, serves as the host site. Race starts at 11:00 a.m.

Seahawk Finishers (116 Runners): 46. James Judlick63. Tyler Wilson82. Adam Scrivener86. Joseph McManus93. Zachary Walker; 101. Frank Zimmer (33:26.1); 103. Ronald Wong (33:34.3); 104. Randy Larsen (33:35.4)