News Release, Michael Bruckner, St. Mary’s College of Maryland

St. Mary’s City, MD- St. Mary’s College of Maryland President Tuajuanda C. Jordan has been named a 2018 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

According to the AAAS, President Jordan was awarded in the education section “for creativity and innovation in bringing research experiences to first-year undergraduate students and for leadership in inclusive excellence in higher education.”

“I am extraordinarily honored to be named an AAAS Fellow,” said Jordan. “The work I did with a team of collaborators from across the nation to create the Science Education Alliance of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute touches on those principles and values that have driven me throughout my career: access, inclusion, excellence, and innovation.To be recognized by my peers for something that brings me great joy is humbling.”

This year 416 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. They will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal “Science” on November 29, 2018, and presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, February 16, at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874.Fellows are recognized for their extraordinary achievements across disciplines, including research; teaching; technology; services to professional societies; administration in academe, industry, and government; and communicating and interpreting science to the public. Fellows are elected annually by the AAAS Council from the list of approved nominations from the Section Steering Groups.