News Release, Office of Maryland Governor Larry Hogan

ANNAPOLIS, MDGovernor Larry Hogan today proclaimed June 28 “Freedom of the Press Day” in honor ofCapital Gazettejournalists Gerald Fischman, Rob Hiaasen, John McNamara, Rebecca Smith, and Wendi Winters, who lost their lives on June 28 last year. The joint resolution was signed by Governor Hogan and Maryland General Assembly leaders this past legislative session.

“One year ago, in a horrific attack, we lost five Marylanders who were doing their job as journalists,” said Governor Hogan. “Today, as we honor those we lost and all who have lost their lives in the pursuit of informing our citizens, we recognize the vital role that the freedom of the press has in our democracy and our duty to honor and protect this constitutional right.”

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...