News Release, Governor’s Coordinating Offices

The Governor’s Office on Service and Volunteerism will host its inaugural Youth Service Awards ceremony with featured speaker Lt. Governor Boyd K. Rutherford, as he recognizes more than a dozen recipients of the awards. Among more than 100 applicants, 10 individuals and 3 groups were honored for their significant community service in Maryland.

Families and mentors of the selected youth are invited to celebrate their outstanding contributions to our communities. 

Youth Individual Recipients:

  • Shreeya Khurana, Montgomery Blair High School
  • Makenzie Greenwood, Shiloh Middle School
  • Michaela West, St. Joseph’s Regional Catholic School
  • Ryan Freeman, Saints Peter & Paul High School
  • Brian Thompson, The John Carroll School
  • Ashley Williams, Chopticon High School
  • Celina Davis, Francis Scott Key High School
  • Lea Joy Peck, Kent Island High School
  • Noah Gainsburg, Friends School of Baltimore
  • Natalie Summers, Homeschool

Youth Group Recipients:

  • Our Minds Matter (Anne Arundel County)
  • Baltimore City College Writing Center (Baltimore City)
  • Sho’men Youth Swim Team Volunteer Club
    (Kent and Queen Anne’s Counties)

The event will be held Wednesday, August 21,2 019 from 1 pm-3 pm at the Governor’s Reception Room at the State House in Annapolis, MD.

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...