News Release, Maryland State Department of Education

BALTIMORE, MD – The Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) on Sunday begins its statewide election to fill the newly-created teacher member position on the State Board of Education (SBOE).

The individual who receives the most votes by the time polling ends on November 17th will have their name forwarded to the Governor for appointment to the SBOE. All teachers who hold an active teaching certificate, as of October 1, 2019, will be eligible to cast one vote in the election.

The voting period begins at 12:01 am on Sunday, November 10th, and runs through November 17, 2019. Voters should follow instructions listed on the MSDE website: Board of Educator Teacher Member Election.

The nominees for this position are :

  • Kristy Herring, Anne Arundel County Public Schools
  • Alethia McCullough, Prince George’s County Public Schools
  • Rachel McCusker, Carroll County Public Schools
  • Kenneth Nwocha, Montgomery County Public Schools
  • Crystal Owens, Dorchester County Public Schools
  • Kelsey Pope, Baltimore County Public Schools
  • Jason RayPrince George’s County Public Schools 
  • Monica RoebuckPrince George’s County Public Schools
  • Crystal Rufenacht, Harford County Public Schools 
  • Melaney Sanchez, Calvert County Public Schools
  • Morgan Showalter, Baltimore City Public Schools
  • Andrea Torres-Blue, Baltimore County Public Schools
  • Michael VanDereedtAnne Arundel County Public Schools

The announcement of the election results will be posted on the MSDE website by December 23, 2019.

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...