News Release, St. Mary’s Ryken High School

Leonardtown, MD- Congratulations to the 17 inaugural members of the St. Mary’s Ryken chapter of the Psi Alpha National Honor Society. An induction ceremony was held on Thursday, November 14 in the Donnie Williams Center. 

Psi Alpha is a psychology club for students interested in the field of study.Founded in 2018, Psi Alpha is a national honor society for high school students, who plan to major or minor in psychology, as well as students who simply have an interest in psychology. The national organization has the mission to enhance America’s high school students’ understanding and knowledge of the science of psychology, how psychology benefits society, and career opportunities available in psychology.

Psi Alpha 2019

The following students were inducted as chapter officers and members:

  • Riley Foster Chapter Delegate
  • Bianca Ingelido – Treasurer
  • Genevieve Vavrus – Secretary
  • Gavin Willis – Vice President
  • Christine Shatrowsky – President

The following students were inducted as Psi Alpha National Honor Society members:

  • Kaitlyn Brouillette 
  • Darrell Davis
  • Taylor Ebodaghe
  • Meagan Green
  • Erin Jackson
  • Joseph Newton
  • Demetrius Poole
  • Christina Rojas
  • Rhiannon Tamburri
  • Corionna Thompson
  • Kathryn White
  • Alexis Wilson

Membership is offered to students who maintain a minimum 3.0 GPA andhave completed a psychology course with a ‘B’ or higher. Students who have received a B or higher in at least one marking period of a psychology course are considered eligible.

For more information about the national society, please visit

For more information about the SMR chapter, please contact the club moderator, Mr. Jason DeLucco at

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...