News Release, College of Southern Maryland

Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan appointed Charles County resident Cordelia Postell to serve CSM as trustee, effective 2020 through 2025.

Postell is an accomplished educator and leader in her military, civilian and faith-based paths in life. She has served in various capacities, including science teacher, STEM school coordinator; Non-commissioned Officer in Charge, and in more recent years, as founding principal and administrator at all grades, pre-K through grade 12.

 “As a school principal and transformational leader, I am a committed practitioner with a genuine concern for the betterment of our youth in preparation for their future,” Postell said, “This opportunity to impact the lives of many of our aspiring youth while enhancing the lives of our established citizens of the tri-county area is an example of the standard that education has sustained in my life. As a 25-year veteran educator, it is with pride and merit that I accept the charge to not only represent, but also help navigate the course for our county, our culture and our future. This is an opportune time to be a part of the CSM Board of Trustees and I am elated to be of service.”

Postell and her husband Melvin also own and operate Affordable A-1 Printing in Waldorf – a printing and graphics company that has been in existence for more than 50 years. She said the couple pride themselves on having created a legacy of education and entrepreneurship by sponsoring a non-profit internship program that trains students in college and career readiness skills.

Image courtesy of College of Southern Maryland

Postell has served in the United States Army Reserves for more than 14 years and completed a deployment in the Enduring Freedom Operation during the Iraq war. Postell shared that she “gives God all the glory, the honor and the praise for His grace and mercy in her life.”

CSM’s trustees also include Jay Webster, Samuel C. Jones, and Christy Lombardi of Calvert County; Shawn Coates and Jose Gonzalez of Charles County; and Ken AbellDr. John W. Roache and Sonja Cox of St. Mary’s County. Serving as secretary/treasurer to the board is CSM President Dr. Maureen Murphy and as Senior Executive Associate to the board is Larisa Pfeiffer. For information about the college’s leadership, visit

CSM’s Board of Trustees is the governing body providing leadership and oversight of the college’s mission and policies. Members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms. The board consists of nine members, with Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary’s counties equally represented. The chair and vice-chair are selected by the trustees among themselves annually.