ANNAPOLIS, Md. (December 21, 2020) – Comptroller Peter Franchot virtually presented the R. Clayton Mitchell Jr. Awards for Distinguished Public Service today. Franchot created the award to honor the indelible legacy of the former Delegate and Speaker of the House, Clay Mitchell. He was an Army veteran and gentlemen farmer who worked tirelessly to improve access to education, modernize transportation and invest in open space programs in Maryland to benefit us all. Speaker Mitchell also received the 2016 William Donald Schaefer Helping People Award for Kent County.

The Mitchell Award recognizes past or current elected officials at all levels of government who exemplify Mitchell’s spirit of public service, demonstrating strong leadership, humility and compassion for their communities. The former Speaker’s son Clayton A. Mitchell Sr. partnered in the presentations with the Comptroller, offering personal insight into his father’s tenure as a civil servant. 

“Clay was a dear friend and mentor and we lost a grand statesman and cherished public servant when he passed. With so many exceptional candidates in the Free State, these were at times difficult choices to make,” Franchot said of the selection process. “I want to congratulate all of the recipients, and thank them for their dedication and service to Maryland. We are all better off because of your unwavering advocacy and commitment to truly serving those you represent.”

The virtual ceremony can be viewed here.

List of Winners:

  • Allegany County: Casper Taylor
  • Anne Arundel County: Mary Ann Love
  • Baltimore City: Kurt Schmoke
  • Baltimore County: Paula Hollinger
  • Calvert County: Hagner Mister
  • Caroline County: Larry C. Porter
  • Carrol County: Julia Walsh Gouge
  • Cecil County: Ronald Guns
  • Charles County: William Eckman
  • Dorchester County: Adelaide Eckardt
  • Frederick County: Galen Clagett
  • Garrett County: Peggy Jamison
  • Harford County: Eileen Rehrmann
  • Howard County: C. Vernon Gray
  • Kent County: Wayne Gilchrest
  • Montgomery County: Ida Ruben 
  • Prince Georges County: Gloria Lawlah
  • Queen Anne’s County: Wheeler Baker
  • Somerset County: Daniel Long
  • St. Mary’s County: John Wood Jr. 
  • Talbot County: William S. Horne
  • Washington County: Charles “Skip” Kauffman
  • Wicomico County: Norman Conway
  • Worcester County: William “Gee” Williams III

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply