Applications Due byApril 20, 2018

The Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council is soliciting applications from qualified individuals to serve on eight advisory panels. Advisory panels provide information and recommendations to the Council during the development of fishery management plans, amendments, specifications and management measures. One of the chief responsibilities of advisory panels is the development of annual Fishery Performance Reports. These reports provide the Council and SSC with information about the factors that influenced fishing effort and catch within each fishery during the previous year.

Advisory panels are composed of individuals with diverse experience and interest in Mid-Atlantic fisheries. Members include commercial fishermen, recreational anglers, for-hire operators, dealers, scientists, environmentalists, and other members of the interested public. Most advisory panels meet 1-2 times per year. Members are compensated for travel and per diem expenses for all meetings. Individuals who are appointed to advisory panels serve for three-year terms.All current advisory panel members must reapply in order to be considered for reappointment.

The Council is accepting applications for the following advisory panels:

  • Bluefish
  • Dogfish (Jointly managed with New England Council)
  • Ecosystem and Ocean Planning
  • Mackerel, Squid and Butterfish
  • River Herring and Shad
  • Summer Flounder, Scup and Black Sea Bass
  • Surfclam and Ocean Quahog
  • Tilefish

How to Apply
Anyone interested in serving on an advisory panel may apply online or download an application Applications can also be obtained by calling the Council office at877-446-2362.

Completed applications must be received byFriday, April 20, 2018.If you have questions or need additional information, please contactMary Saboat302-518-1143.

The Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council is one of eight regional councils established by the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act of 1976. The Council has primary responsibility for twelve species of fish and shellfish in the exclusive economic zone (EEZ) between 3 and 200 miles off the Mid-Atlantic coast. Member states include New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia and North Carolina.Visit our websitefor more information.