BALTIMORE, MD (October 23, 2018) – Maryland Attorney General Brian E. Frosh today joined a bipartisan coalition of 33 attorneys general calling on the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) and Acting Director Mick Mulvaney to continue protecting military service members against predatory lenders under the Military Lending Act (MLA).

The attorneys general urge the CFPB to reconsider its reported decision to stop examining lenders to ensure they are complying with the MLA.“Director Mulvaney’s refusal to ensure lenders are complying with the MLA puts our military members and their families at unnecessary financial risk,” said Attorney General Frosh. “The CFPB should do its job and protect those who protect our country. My office will vigorously enforce consumer protection laws, including those protecting military families from extortionist or predatory loans.”

The MLA, enacted in 2006, protects military service members and their families against exploitative lenders and loans so that service members aren’t overburdened with debt. The CFPB has the authority to examine lenders’ compliance with the MLA to detect potential risks to consumers and ensure that military service members aren’t being offered illegal loans.

This is especially important for younger service members who have less experience managing their own finances and may be more vulnerable to predatory loans.

Approximately 60 percent of military families report experiencing stress related to their financial condition. Service members in financial distress may have their security clearance revoked and be compelled to leave the military, resulting in the loss of well-trained service members and additional financial burdens for the military.

In addition to Maryland, the letter was signed by Attorneys General from Alaska, California,Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky,Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York,North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, and Wyoming.