News Release, St. Mary’s College of Maryland Athletics

ST. MARY’S CITY, Md. – The St. Mary’s College of Maryland Department of Athletics & Recreation inducted 27 of its student-athletes into the Maryland Beta Chapter of Chi Alpha Sigma, the national college athlete honor society. In addition, 18 Seahawk student-athletes earned the honor for the second consecutive year. 

“Each year at this time we honor the incredible academic and athletic achievements of a very select group of student athletes,” Director of Athletics & RecreationScott Devinesaid. “Their membership in Chi Alpha Sigma represents cumulative excellence in the classroom and in the highly competitive world of college athletics. I am always inspired by our Seahawk Chi Alpha Sigma members as they truly embody the highest St. Mary’s College of Maryland and NCAA Division III ideals.”

The National College Athlete Honor Society was founded at DePauw University in Greencastle, Indiana on May 17, 1996, by DePauw head football coach and professor of kinesiology, Nick Mourouzis. Mourouzis recognized that there were many organizations that honored students for outstanding academic or athletic achievements, but none that did both. Chi Alpha Sigma hopes to bring honor and recognition to deserving student-athletes, their families, teams, athletic departments, and colleges in much the same way as Phi Beta Kappa honors scholastics.

Chi Alpha Sigma is a nonprofit organization established in 1996 to recognize collegiate student-athletes who earned a varsity letter in at least one sport while maintaining a 3.4 or higher cumulative GPA throughout their junior and senior years.

“St. Mary’s College was one of the first schools in Maryland to form a chapter of Chi Alpha Sigma, because we so strongly believe in recognizing this marriage of athletic achievement and high academic standing,” stated Devine. “We are so proud of our returning members and our new inductees!”

Chi Alpha Sigma Induction Class of 2020: Andrew Collins (baseball), Bowen Plagge (baseball), Dillon Waters (baseball), Jeremiah Clemmer (men’s lacrosse), Alex Pfaff (men’s lacrosse), Joseph Abramovitz (men’s rowing), Graham Bos (men’s rowing), Josh McRobie (men’s soccer), Charlie Skinner (men’s soccer), Lewis Cooper (sailing), Laura Dennison (sailing), Julia Faranetta (sailing & women’s soccer), Gloria Kevliciute (sailing), Erin McPhillips (sailing), Genna Viggiano (sailing), Thomas Walker (sailing), Delaney Ballard (women’s basketball), Ashleigh Bonanno (women’s basketball), Gina Seifert (women’s basketball), Hannah Dietrich (field hockey), Jodi Credit (women’s lacrosse), Elena League (women’s rowing), Alexandra Efron (women’s swimming), Elizabeth Johnson (women’s swimming), Anna LaPoint (women’s swimming), Brenna Litynski (women’s swimming), Ellyse Sutliff (volleyball).

The Department would also like to recognize 18 seniors who were inducted into Chi Alpha Sigma last year and maintained a 3.4 GPA in their final academic year.  Those individuals are: Andrew Atkins (baseball), Brad Moore (men’s soccer), Patrick Paolini (men’s soccer), Ryan Akhavan (men’s swimming), Peter Orban (men’s swimming), Jacob Rosenzweig-Stein (men’s swimming), Jonathan Gorel (men’s tennis), Jessica Bennett (sailing), Alyssa Demski (field hockey & women’s lacrosse), Kelbey Egerland (field hockey), Kate Bartholomew (women’s lacrosse), Katherine Gill (women’s rowing), Kathleen Ortel (women’s rowing), Megan Mosesman (women’s soccer), Becca Sonnenberg (women’s swimming), Carolyn Sutton (women’s swimming), Claire Bodine (women’s tennis), Emily Benedict (volleyball).

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...