News Release, Town of Chesapeake Beach

Chesapeake Beach, MD– On July 1, 2019, Mayor Patrick “Irish” Mahoney was appointed by Gov. Lawrence J. Hogan Jr. and is awaiting confirmation by the Maryland State Senate, to serve a four-year term, as a member of the Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays. Mayor Mahoney will continue to serve the Town of Chesapeake Beach as Mayor during this appointment. 

Mayor Mahoney stated “An appointment to the Critical Area Commission is an honor and a great opportunity. Our love for the Bay, fishing, wildlife, and plants is a huge reason why we all love living in Chesapeake Beach. Holding a seat on this prestigious Commission ensures further protection of the resources we love today and for future generations.”

The Critical Area Commission consists of 29 voting members with one member appointed from Calvert County.The Critical Area Commission was created by the Critical Area Act in 1984. The Commission was initially charged with adopting regulations and criteria necessary to effectively implement the Act.

Today the Commission’s primary responsibilities are the following:

  • Review and approve State projects on State-owned land in the Critical Area;
  • Review and approve State or local agency actions resulting in major development on private lands or lands owned by local jurisdictions; and
  • Review and approve all changes to a jurisdiction’s Critical Area Program, including changes to ordinances, regulations, and maps.

David M. Higgins II, Publisher/Editor

David M. Higgins was born in Baltimore and grew up in Southern Maryland. He has had a passion for journalism since high school. After spending many years in the Hospitality Industry he began working in...