ANNAPOLIS, MD—Governor Larry Hogan today submitted 131 appointments to the Maryland State Senate. Secretary of Appointments Chris Cavey presented Senate President Bill Ferguson with the names of the “Green Bag” nominees, including 62 women—nearly half of all appointees.

“Since I first took office in 2015, I have striven to nominate qualified Marylanders who reflect the diversity of our great state,” said Governor Hogan. “I am confident that these appointees will serve their respective boards with integrity and help us continue to change Maryland for the better.”


This year’s “Green Bag” includes appointment nominations for more than 55 different boards and commissions across the state. Some of the nominations include:

Keith J. Wolfe, Anne Arundel County, Trustees of the Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund—President of Swiss Reinsurance America Corporation, a leading global insurance company with a $5 billion revenue and a team of 450. Twenty-four years of experience in the insurance industry. Holds an MBA from Northwestern University and currently serves as a board member for the American Association of Insurance Services and the American Property and Casualty Insurance Association.

Reggie J. Turner, Washington County, Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Commission —President and financial planner for Turner Wealth Management in Hagerstown. Formerly served as vice president and financial advisor for PNC Bank. He is a commissioner on the Maryland Commission on African American History and Culture, as well as chairman of the Western Maryland Community Development Corporation, and a member of Meritus Health Foundation.

Melissa A. Noel, Washington County, Maryland Economic Development Commission— Owner and operator of Noel’s Fire Protection Management Services, Inc., Noel’s Realty Holdings, LLC, The Williamsport Yarn Closet, and The Ice Cream Shop in Hagerstown. Graduate of Leadership Washington County 2021 and serves as a member of the Washington County Chamber of Commerce, Greater Hagerstown Committee, and the Hagerstown Art and Entertainment Advisory Council.

Maria P. Rodriguez, Frederick County, Maryland Health Benefit Exchange—Owner of MPR Business Solutions, LLC (provides paralegal services, notary public, and administrative services to law firms) and executive director of the Maryland Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.

Hon. Barbara K. Howe, Baltimore County, Maryland Higher Education Commission—Retired judge, Circuit Court of Baltimore County. Currently serving as settlement master, Circuit Court of Baltimore County. She is the past president of the Maryland Bar Association and past chair of the Board of Trustees of the Community College of Baltimore County.

Karen B. Salmon, Ph.D., Talbot County, Maryland Higher Education Commission—The retired state superintendent of schools, former superintendent of schools for Talbot County, former superintendent of schools for the Bay Shore Union Free School District in New York, and former teacher and assistant principal for Caroline County Public Schools.

Anthony J. McAllister, Prince George’s County, Maryland Parole Commission—Juvenile probation and parole officer for the City of Alexandria, VA for 30 years. Serves on the Prince George’s County Commission on Fathers, Men, and Boys.

Benjamin N. Seidel, Worcester County, Maryland Tourism Development Board—President and chief executive officer for Real Hospitality Group and president of Marriott’s Owners Council for the Aloft brand. Board member of the American Hotel and Lodging Association.

Dori Bishop Kelso, C.P.A., Baltimore County, University System of Maryland Board of Regents—President and chief operating officer of Bishop and Associates and 135 Advisory Management LLC. Board member of the University of Maryland St. Joseph Medical Center Foundation and Maryland Association of CPAs, and past member of the Maryland Behavioral Health Advisory Council and founding director of the Harford County Land Trust.

Farah Helal, Howard County, University System of Maryland Board of Regents—Student Regent. She is a sophomore in UMBC’s Honors College with a dual major in global studies and political science and is a scholar in the Sondheim Public Affairs Program where she received the Jacob Blaustein Public Affairs Award. UMBC SGA director of Government Affairs and co-director of Government Relations for the USM Student Council.

“I am extremely proud of the Appointments Office, as well as the process that allows Governor Hogan to fill important volunteer positions across the State of Maryland,” said Secretary Cavey. “Each of these qualified nominees possesses valuable experience in their fields that will serve them well in their respective roles.”

Dating back to 17th century England, the term “Green Bag” refers to the green satchel that is used once every year to bring the gubernatorial nominations to the Senate. It is a longstanding tradition for a member of the governor’s staff to deliver the bag once a year to the Maryland State Senate.

A list of the “Green Bag” appointments can be found here.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply